“Have patience. All things are difficult before they become easy”

It’s been a while since my last blog and one reason for this is that everything I’ve been doing in these last few weeks has been very routine and slightly boring, therefore I was preventing myself from boring anyone who decided to read any blog I’d of posted then.

Image

My scar collection, thinnest on the shin and couple on the knee are my newest additions #battered

Since my last blog I’ve been doing a lot of physio – as predicted our physio (Az) and I are forming quite a bond! He’s already named me as ‘one of those’ which in laymen’s terms means someone who gets a bit too excited with where they are and tries to push themselves further than they should. I’m slowly but surely learning the phrase ‘patience is a virtue’ to which I’m sure Az is welcoming with open arms. I do know when I’m pushing myself too hard however as my knee swells A LOT something which is proving very annoying. I have therefore set myself some short, med and long term goals to gradually progress myself and keep a track of how I’m doing. There also being a section for personal goals in which I did state that Az and I should remain friends throughout my recovery period even though there may be testing times (more so for him than me). The surprising parts of my recovery being that I will be kicking a ball a lot earlier on than I first expected, which definitely is something I’m looking forward to!

The majority of my exercises I’m doing at the moment are ones which develop my strength in the muscles surrounding my knee. I have a new machine call a ‘Compex’ which I talked about in my previous blog. It’s job? To turn what I now call my chicken leg, into a fully functioning quad muscle. A lot easier said than done but something which apparently will come quicker than expected. In the past few days I’ve managed 2 lots of 5 minute cycles on the bike allowing for more movement in my knee and some wall slide squat things which are progressing well. One pain of an exercise is the simplest of them all which requires me lie on my stomach, hang my leg off the end of my bed (from knee down) making my knee straighten a lot more, HURTS LIKE HELL!! My once extremely active self is really struggling at the moment to come to terms with my new regime and life, a complete opposite to anything I have known. I feel so horrendously fat most of the time and I’m welcoming when I don’t get a sweat on walking up the stairs (horrible sight).

Image

My new healthy regime, fruit and a quad tense #machine

I have a lot of spare time now due to no football and no uni, which is testing times as I’m not someone who likes to sit inside all day (sun seeker). I’m looking at furthering my coaching qualifications as there is ‘no time like the present’! Something of which I’d never of expected to say as I never thought coaching was for me. However after signing for Bristol I was allowed the chance to work with their Centre of Excellence’s U’17s and it’s safe to say I’m glad I did. There’s fortunately (as annoying as watching may be) a lot of women’s football on show this summer with firstly the seniors European Championships in Sweden to look forward to. Thankfully the BBC is showing all games so I won’t have to visit hundreds of websites in order to find a stream to watch live! Also, even though it isn’t televised the World University Games (WUGS) is on this summer in Russia, a tournament I was eligible for and had I been selected would have enjoyed going to. There is a whole host of WSL players playing and they seem to be having a great time out there so far. Not forgetting the U19’s Euros which is only round the corner from me in Wales, some live football with our England U19s team playing and a lot of my Bristol teammates playing for Wales. Like many Brits I get a slight dose of ‘Wimbledon Fever’ this time of the year, and like to dust of my racket and have a game, however I am unable to play right now so I’m settling for strawberries and cream with a glass of Robinsons 😉

Image

My new favourite past time #aaaandrelax

Apparently this weekend is set to be the hottest of the year so far and I am very much so looking forward to this! I shall hopefully be visiting the white sands of Tenby beach in south Wales this weekend and hoping to catch a glowing tan …

Ciao for now!

L x

6 comments

  1. Katy Picken · · Reply

    I do admire your spirit. Keep it up girl, it’s going to become one of the most positive, inspiring & learning experiences (as much as it sucks now!) You’ll be amazed how much you inspire. Take care lady & keep up the wonderful work (“;)

  2. Neil Procter · · Reply

    I thibk you need someone else to take a few photos; I’ve seen so many shots of you looking down at your legs I’m starting to think they’re mine!! It sounds really hard work, Lucy but you also sound determined and you still have a sense of humour. Keep it up – it will get easier.

  3. I’m going through the same thing right now, it’s really hard :/ I just got surgery on my ACL two weeks ago. Keep up the work ! It gets better 🙂

  4. Thanks for updating us. You strike me as a tenacious lady with the mental and physical strength to succeed in getting back to full fitness. It is clearly hard, but please try and look for and take the positives from the experience – the coaching thing is a great idea. I am really looking forward to the day when you are back in the Vixens midfield.

  5. Hi there would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re using? I’ve loaded
    your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

  6. I think this is one of the most important information for
    me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The website style
    is wonderful, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

