ACL Reconstruction

First of all I’d just like to say a massive thank you for the huge response I received in my last blog; honestly I never imagined that many people would read it. Like I said in the blog previous to this I am so appreciative of everyone’s kind words and hearing others experiences, it helps me massively and keeps me thinking positively.

So… picking up where I left off I was looking forward to my operation on Thursday 13th of June. Not being a massive fan of hospitals I tried to not give the situation too much thought as I didn’t want to worry too much about what was going to happen; this also meaning I wasn’t 100% sure about what the operation entailed – to my shock later! Due to the amount of my friends and fellow footballers who have suffered an ACL rupture or similar knee injury, I had a vague idea about what to expect, hamstring graft etc etc but I never understood fully what was going to happen. I preferred it this way, less to think about, get it over and done with. I have been reading other blogs similar to this and as I repeat what’s been written by many it’s so strange going to the hospital with what felt like a healthy, fully functioning knee (all be it I couldn’t run etc), knowing I’d be leaving the hospital with a knee that felt in considerably worse shape than it did prior to the operation, strange thought to process?!?

The night before the operation I was under instruction to not eat after 12am and not to drink anything after 5am, me being the fatty I am decided what better way to go into hospital than on a hugely full stomach! A few prawns, chicken wings, ribs and a slice of cheesecake later I went off to bed with my alarm set for 6am to be in hospital for 7!

Image

Hospital attire doesn’t do much for me #model

I was allocated my room in the hospital where there was a continuous flow of nurses entering and exiting, with a lot of the same questions to ask, every time my mum, my friend Haz and I were asked whether we had a question the only thought on our mind was when was the operation?!?! Thankfully I was first! I did receive a rather funny look when I asked for the ‘magic cream’ to be put on my hand to numb it before my cannula was inserted! I was allowed it however and one of my worries was eased. I then walked down to the room where I received anaesthetic along with many other things and drifted off to sleep …

Image

My ‘magic cream’ worked wonders #wimp

… When I came round I was definitely on another planet (some could argue that’s me just normal) I can’t remember much however I do remember  just staring at a tree swaying in the wind – which amused me no end! The rest of the afternoon was a blur, I received lessons on crutches and my exercises from the physio accompanied with various medication. The biggest shock of the afternoon was receiving my x-ray results to find I had a screw by my shin?? As I didn’t find out earlier the nitty gritty of the operation I was surprised, but apparently it’s normal procedure. A screw and a pin holding in place my new ligament made from some of my hamstring! I could tell something had happened to my hamstring as there was loads of pain in that area. The rest of this day was then spent drifting in and out of consciousness and being nursed at home 🙂

The following day was spent  in the back seat of the car with legs out along the seat, travelling from Bristol to Alnwick (where my mum lives) which was an extremely long and uncomfortable journey, only helped a little by watching the O.C on my laptop! But shout out to my mum she drove the whole way only having one stop! For someone who is a very questionable driver this was a big feat! (Stay in this lane, but go right).

Image

My leg currently … Trying to reduce as much swelling as possible #workinprogress

From here I’ve found myself laid out on the sofa, using my game ready and watching the best of sky movies on demand for the past few days. It’s been a hard week post op with not being able to do anything for myself but thankfully I’ve had my mum at my beck and call. The hardest thing I’ve faced is trying to keep my muscles, especially my quad, from reducing in size and remaining ‘engaged’. My left leg’s size has considerably decreased and until I can start using a machine called a compex (uses electrical impulses to stimulate a muscle) it’s going to be hard to change this. After seeing my friend Lucy the other day who has been through similar if not worse knee problems though, I feel confident that I will be able to come back stronger than ever.

I’m hoping within the next few days I become a bit more mobile and start to rely on my crutches less. Like my first blog I never feel as though I can say thank you enough to anyone that has helped me. But I would like to say a special thank you to my friend and teammate Angharad James (she asked for this mention) for braving the hospital and looking after me. My not-so-little brother Jack, for keeping me amused when he’s around. My friend Jamie who came to see me in hospital only for me to be rushed off to get an x-ray at the time! And my mother who has literally waited on me hand and foot, all I need now is a bell?

I want to use this opportunity as well to say a massive good luck to the England girls who’ve been picked for Sweden 2013, especially my closest football friends Lucy Bronze and Jordan Nobbs – they deserve this so much!

In the meantime I will be hobbling around, tensing my quad and watching more movies hopefully collecting enough experiences to write another blog soon!

Once again thanks for giving your time to read this.

L x

Image

Something funny … Had to wear these in the hospital #cheeky

7 comments

  1. Katy Picken · · Reply

    You should write more. About those pants, wow…..Just wow. And seriously, you write really well & can certainly string an interesting sentence together. All very best wishes for your continued recovery & hope see you kicking a football again soon (“;)

  2. DianeB · · Reply

    Very well written Lucy. Will try and call in to see you!!!

  3. Neil Procter · · Reply

    Well done Lucy; major hurdle over, now it’s time and physio. And the bonus of looking good in the surgery smock (apart from the daft face, that is). When I had an arthroscopy on my knee my smock was about five sizes too small; the waist tie was just below my armpits, and it wouldn’t meet at the back. Luckily they let me keep my shorts on!!!! The staff nurse came in to see why I was laughing so much!!! Looking forward to the next thrilling installment. Keep positive. Keep smiling.

  4. Awesome mate. You’re doing good. Wait until the moment you can start putting weight on it again. I literally had forgotten how to walk after only 2 week on crutches! You should video that moment =)

  5. Good read, hope you keep us updated on what I hope is a speedy recovery.

  6. David Richardson · · Reply

    A very good read Lucy, it must have been as I was desperate to get to the end without cheating and missing some. I’m Dave you’re uncle John’s brother in law, dad of Sam and Lee the rugby player. Give my kind regards to your dad please.

  7. David Richardson · · Reply

    Oh I’m so sorry I forgot to wish you a speedy and successful recovery.

Leave a Reply

