The beginning of a new journey #37

Ok so I’m not 100% sure how this blog is going to go however after being strongly advised by my dad and reading a few blogs myself I’ve decided to give this a go …

For those of you who don’t know me, my names Lucy Staniforth (known to a lot as Stan) I’m 20 years old and play for Bristol Academy WFC as well as England U’23s.

Image

Love this team #Vixens

Firstly I’d just like to say the support I’ve received after getting injured has been the most overwhelming situation I never imagined I’d find myself in. It’s no cliché when I say that it has genuinely helped me a huge amount. For that I want to say thanks!

I’ve put off writing about my injury so many times as I’ve struggled to just sit down and give the whole situation a lot of thought, but as my op on Thursday 13th of June nears I thought it would be best to start it sooner rather than later. I think I speak for anyone who has had a serious injury before when I say it’s not easy. I just want to write this blog in the hope it will help, give comfort and prevent others from finding themselves in a similar situation to the one I’m faced with now.

Going back a few weeks … Pre FA cup final. I can honestly say, probably speaking on behalf of the rest of the girls as well, in that I’ve never been more excited for a game like I was this game. We trained on the Saturday prior to the final on the Sunday and it went well, spirits were high everything was going to plan. We spent the rest of Saturday travelling to Doncaster where we were greeted by friends and family at our hotel. I tried to get some sleep the night before the game but me and my roomie Windy (Alex Windell) struggled to do so. We woke up had brekkie, went for a walk and had a little stretch before our final meeting prior to departure for the Keepmoat! Credit to Mark (boss) and Stevie (unsure of job title) the meeting was spot on, emotional and we were ready, COFFEE TABLE (don’t need to say anymore).  Before I fast forward a few hours, I just want to say the greeting we got at the Stadium was unlike anything I had experienced before – the travelling Bristol fans were awesome and I want to thank you all for supporting us! #BRISTOLFAMILY

Image

View from the coach as we arrived at The Keepmoat Stadium #amazing

… The game started and we were on the back foot from pretty much minute 1. Arsenal doing what Arsenal do best, rising to the occasion and credit to them. I’m a big believer in that anything can happen in cup games but I had no idea what was waiting for me round the corner. Half – time was a blur but we knew we weren’t doing ourselves justice and that had to change. We went out 2nd half determined to put things right. The next part of the game is something I want to forget however for anyone who didn’t see what happened, I won’t go into too much detail but I suffered what is apparently pretty much a textbook ACL rupture and I knew it straight away. Here is where I’d like to say thanks to anyone that came into contact with the crying (slightly high off laughing gas) mess that I was, especially my teamie Annie Heatherson 🙂 .

Image

My knee swollen after the final #oops

From here I think I’ve experienced every emotion possible. It was really hard to comprehend at first and it didn’t hit me till a few days in when I had my first consultation with the surgeon. I don’t know much about injuries and operations and just assumed I’d be getting my operation as quick as possible but that wasn’t to be. I found out that because of the swelling and lack of movement, I had to wait for this to subside which caused me no greater frustration. I just wanted to get everything started and kick start my rehab properly. I’ve been using a machine called a Game Ready, given to me from Bristol City men’s team (thank you). For those that don’t know, this machine is the ultimate healer!! It compresses and ices an area; you can even use it while you sleep! 

Image

My new friend and favourite past time at the moment #gameready

I now leave this blog looking forward to Thursday’s operation. There’s so many people I need to say thank you to and I’m sorry if I haven’t said it yet. But I just want to say thanks to all the girls and staff at the club, you’ve made it so much easier to deal with and kept me feeling part of the team  J. A huge thanks to my family and friends for helping me so much (pinballs) ! Last but not least, I have a feeling we’ll be best friends in the next coming months, Aaron (our physio) who’s helped me every step of the way so far!

So thanks for reading, I’m sure I’ll have plenty more to talk about in the next few months of which I want to share with you all.

I appreciate every bit of support and can’t thank everyone enough. 

Lucy x

Image

My knee in the brace Arsenal kindly lent me! #thanks

6 comments

  1. Hi Lucy, I think it’s great that your doing a blog on your injury. I am coming up to 6months post op acl surgery and I found that being able to look at other people’s stories online helps alot and gives sort of a reassurance that everything is how it should be.

    I also torn my acl playing football and its by far the worst injury I have ever suffered but I’ve had good support around me and I can’t wait to get playing again.

    It is a long road to recovery but keep up with the rehab and you will be back before you know it 🙂

  2. Peter Leuzzi · · Reply

    Watched the final with my 13yo step daughter who is (hopefully) on a similar path as yours in your footballing career. As a consequence of your injury and wondering what happened to you I started googling you and found this. No I’m not a stalker type (my counsellor says I’m over those tendencies now :))

    Good luck Lucy

    Pete

  3. I’ve had both my knees replaced due to having arthritis (I’m only 28) so I know exactly how hard and down right scary things like this can be. It’s not going to be easy for you but it sounds like you have a lot of support. One thing I always say is no matter how daunting it can be it will always get better. Good luck and I hope you have a speedy recovery! (From an Everton Fan) 🙂

  4. Nice to see another famous fellow Staniforth 🙂

    Good luck with the rehab, as a pro wrestler and show promoter, i know too well what it’s like to be injured :-/

  5. Alice Davis · · Reply

    Wishing all the best luck for Thursday and very nice to hear about the support from Bristol City and Arsenal to help with your rehab x

  6. Mike Curson · · Reply

    The Curson family is behind you for the long haul , wishing you every piece of luck during your operation and rehab! Mike and Sue Curson.

Leave a Reply

